He rocked a pink cumberbund (and other reasons why my brother was awesome)

Hallelujah. Good things have already started happening since I started sharing Eric’s story. People have reached out to tell me I’m doing the right thing, they can relate and other “hoo-rah” comments. But do you know what my favorite thing has been so far? A picture. Sent to me by Eric’s high school prom date. She said he was the “perfect prom date.” Of course he was. He was awesome. Especially when it came to living the 80’s dream. He had a mullet. He wore high tops. He drove a red hatch back. He played a red electric guitar. He had a Boston t-shirt pinned to his bedroom wall. He was kind of like Marty McFly, only taller. Much, much taller. At 6 foot 8, he was a giant. And I loved it. I loved seeing the open-mouthed stares he would get in public. I loved how he had to duck through most doorways. He was cool. He rocked a pink cumberbund. He was my brother.

Prom never looked so good.

2 thoughts on “He rocked a pink cumberbund (and other reasons why my brother was awesome)

  1. Wow! He really was tall, standing over the divider haha. My favorite part through looking at my dad’s belongings are the photos as well. It’s amazing what things will make you bawl your eyes out and what things will make you laugh and remember all the wonderful things. I’m sure there have been a few wounds that have been re-opened as you’ve been writing these posts, but I think what you’re doing is really cleansing! It’s an inspiration, thank you!

Leave a comment